Chief Minister, Assam

Shri Sarbananda Sonowal, (BJP) Chief Minister, Assam
Shri Sarbananda Sonowal, (BJP) Chief Minister, Assam
Shri Sarbananda Sonowal, (BJP) Chief Minister, Assam


Sri Sonowal graduated from Dibrugarh University and then completed LLB from Gauhati University. He started his political career as the President of the All Assam Students Union (AASU) from 1992 to 1999. He then joined the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) party and was elected MLA from Moran constituency in 2001. Sri Sonowal became a Lok Sabha member in 2004, representing Dibrugarh constituency. This he continued to be till 2009. In 2011, Sri Sonowal joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

In 2014 general elections, Sri Sarbananda Sonowal won from Lakhimpur constituency and joined the  16th Lok Sabhawas as MP. He was given the portfolio of Union Minister of State-Independent Charge and Union Minister for Sports & Youth Affairs under the BJP Government at the centre. On 19 May 2016, Sri Sonowal won the Assam Assembly Elections from Majuli constituency and became the 14th Chief Minister of Assam.

Contact Details

Ph: 0361-2262222, 0361-2237043

CM block, Assam Secretariat  
Dispur, Assam

Former CM List

Sr.No.Name of Chief MinisterFromToParty
1Gopinath Bordoloi11-Feb-466-Aug-50INC
2Bishnu Ram Medhi9-Aug-5027-Dec-57INC
3Bimala Prasad Chaliha28-Dec-576-Nov-70INC
4Mahendra Mohan Choudhry11-Nov-7030-Jan-72INC
5Sarat Chandra Sinha31-Jan-7212-Mar-78INC
6Golap Borbora12-Mar-784-Sep-79JNP
7Jogendra Nath Hazarika9-Sep-7911-Dec-79JNP
#President’s rule12-Dec-795-Dec-80
8Anowara Taimur6-Dec-8030-Jun-81INC
#President’s rule30-Jun-8113-Jan-82
9Kesab Chandra Gogoi13-Jan-8219-Mar-82INC
#President’s rule19-Mar-8227-Feb-83
10Hiteswar Saikia27-Feb-8323-Dec-85INC
11Prafulla Kumar Mahanta24-Dec-8528-Nov-90AGP
#President’s rule28-Nov-9030-Jun-91
12Hiteswar Saikia30-Jun-9122-Apr-96INC
13Bhumidhar Barman22-Apr-9614-May-96INC
#Prafulla Kumar Mahanta15-May-9617-May-01AGP
14Tarun Gogoi17-May-0124-May-16INC
15Sarbananda Sonowal (Designate)24-May-16PresentBJP